
The blessings of my inlaws have helped me twice in my lifetime which I can recall. Obviously, the first time was when I asked them for their blessing on my marriage to their daughter. Whereupon, my father in law, leapt from his chair, saying, "Well, what are you waiting for?", and practically shoved me out of his door, to go propose to his daughter. The second time was Tuesday afternoon, when my mother in law, a former nun, wished me much luck at the games. Being graced by this and the ability to unload my burdens early that day, I arrived at Arrowwood Casino around 3:30, ready to smoke, drink, and blow my wad...of money that is. I was greeted as usual, by JP, Terry, and AL. Cops, Teachers, and EDS employees...and Al; Don't they ever work? Nonetheless, though they were deep in a big, high end game, it wasn't long before I had a couple of beers, lit one up, and was welcomed to donate some cash. The latter never seemed to happen. I tried to be my usual gracious winner, but as beer would have it, Ryan later pointed out that I was "Angry Rico"...or "Mean RIco"....brain's still a little fuzzy. I couldn't seem to lose. Sure, I folded some hands I shouldn't have, that would have won, but then again, I also went all in with 9-8 os, and three aces on the board and was quickly called by Neil's pocket K's...OUCH!!! That hurt.
As the drinking and the luck continued on the second game, I collected chip after chip, and without looking at my cards, called and all in by either Neil or Terry, which was a mere dent in my stack. We were bantering, but our jocularity was squelched when JP anounced he wasn't going to just call as we all did, but push back with 2100 more. Out of spite, and Molson, I bolstered the idea that we should all call JP just because. Well, we did, and once the river came, and JP anounced he had a straight, I flipped over my cards to find I had a 5s-6s, to add to the three spades on the board. Dennis fell by the wayside as well that game. His full house hit on the river, and he pushed all in. I called immediately, because the J-4os I played ended up giving me quad J's. In fact, my winning streak was held up only by a moment in the early evening, when Terry received some chips in a cigar box or something...I think they were Doritos.
My vision just got blurrier after that. I do recall stating once that it's a fine line between getting drunk enough to play loose, but not too drunk to play stupid. I rode that assymptotic line all night. I think I had a pair of sixes to start the big game. Oh, no, wait...that was my seating assignment. Unlike Phil Helmuth, if it wasn't for luck, I would have gone home early...or at least retired to the couch. Somehow I just kept accumulating chips. I know it sounds cheeky, but everytime I looked down, I was surprised. And, of course, I never bluff, so it had to be luck giving me these big hands all night. Of course this endeared me to no one. Ryan, most likely will never invite me to his house, though I don't know why. And Russ...he might think I have a tape recorder playing "I call", everytime he presses the "All In" button. Not that I won every hand from him. There's no possible way I could do that from such a stellar player as he. But my 5- 4os, did out kick his A - 5, when I hit two pair on the river; as did my 7s -2s call on his all in push with Qs - 10s. Well, at least I didn't get a beer spilled im my lap. Darren did that to himself, though he was directly in back of me in the second table...or was that the side table by then? I forget.
However, the ultimate feather in the cap has to be when you have a slight edge in heads up play, and your opponent says, "I'm all in", as you're glancing at your hole cards: AA. Whoever told me I need to eat before I show up next time...don't count on it. In fact, if I could remember which shirt and shorts I was wearing that night, I wouldn't change a thing. Thank you Sister Mary Lorraine!!!
Rico